Board of Directors

Ohio Humanities board members serve as advocates for the public humanities by promoting the mission and vision of Ohio Humanities to sustain vibrant communities and foster lifelong learning. The Board of Directors are the fiduciary stewards of the organization; as a whole, the board establishes policy and ensures the financial health of the organization.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year. Additional responsibilities and details are listed beneath this list of the current board members as of November 1, 2017.

Kay Shames, JD | Pepper Pike | Chair 
Director, Center for Arts and Innovation, Cleveland State University

Brodi Conover, JD | Lebanon
Assistant Attorney General, Constitutional Offices Section

David Descutner, PhD | Athens
Interim Executive Vice President & Provost, Ohio University

Deena Epstein | Shaker Heights
Retired Senior Program Officer, The George Gund Foundation

Jane E. Gerhardt, JD | Cincinnati
Policy Specialist, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Jay Giles | Burton
Senior Vice President and Senior Commercial Loan Officer, Middlefield Bank Corp.

Lance Grahn, PhD | Cortland
Dean & Chief Administrative Officer, and Professor of History, Kent State University-Trumbull

Andrew Hershberger, PhD | Bowling Green
Chairperson, Division of Art History, Bowling Green State University

Paul W. Imhoff | Upper Arlington
Superintendent, Upper Arlington City Schools

George Kalbouss, PhD | Columbus
Professor Emeritus, Slavic History and Languages, The Ohio State University

Kenneth Ledford, PhD | Shaker Heights
Associate Professor, History and Law, Case Western Reserve University

William Loudermilk | Dayton
Professor, English, Edison Community College

Ali Minai, PhD | Cincinnati
Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computing Systems, University of Cincinnati

Angela O’Neal | Hilliard
Manager, Genealogy, History and Travel, Columbus Metropolitan Library

Kevin Rose | Springfield
Historian, The Turner Foundation

Susmita Sadana, PhD | Dublin
Visiting Assistant Professor, Kenyon College

Tony Sanfilippo | Bexley
Director, Ohio State University Press

Bill Schiffman | Worthington
President, Schiffman Grow & Co.

Jon B. Schwantes | Dublin
News Analyst & Host, Indiana Lawmakers, WFYI Public Media

Sarah M. Sisser | Findlay
Executive Director, Hancock Historical Museum

Carey Snyder, PhD | Athens
Associate Professor, English, Ohio University

K. Paul St. Germain, DMin | Upper Arlington
Rector, Saint Mark’s Episcopal Church

Thomas Way | Steubenville
Executive Director, Urban Frontier Organization

Updated 12/13/2018

Additional Responsibilities

The responsibilities of each board member include sharing their wisdom and experience, attending quarterly business meetings, participating on committees, reviewing grant applications, evaluating projects, and acting as liaisons with various audiences and civic leaders.

In addition, board members are asked to assist with development activities and to make annual contributions to Ohio Humanities. Ohio Humanities is always seeking qualified individuals from the academic and private sectors to serve as board members and guide the organization’s future.

Terms of service are three years, with appointments beginning on November 1 of that year. Prospective member packets should include  a nomination form and the individual’s resume or curriculum vita. Nominations are accepted throughout the year. Please forward nominations to:

Pat Williamsen, Executive Director
471 East Broad Street-Suite 1620
Columbus, Ohio 43215